APPEA Scholarships

Tony Noon Scholarship

Applications for the 2014 Tony Noon Scholarship are now open.

This scholarship is for students enrolled in honours, Masters or PhD programs at an Australian university. It provides a one-off grant to a maximum value of $3,000 and is aimed at assisting students who are aspiring to or considering a career in the upstream petroleum industry. This may include, for example, the disciplines of exploration, geology, safety, engineering, environmental management, economics or law.

Applicants must be attending university in the year of application and be an Australian citizen or permanent resident.

Click here for more information including selection criteria and how to apply.

APPEA Engineering Scholarships

Two scholarships are available each year to encourage engineering students looking to enter the oil and gas industry.  These are available for any field of engineering for undergraduate degrees that cover the remaining duration of the recipient’s studies for up to five years full-time (or equivalent part-time) study.

One scholarship is specifically for Aboriginal Australians, and APPEA encourages applications from Aboriginal students who are planning on starting or already undertaking an engineering degree in Australia that is relevant to the oil and gas industry.

The second scholarship is open to all Australian residents who are undertaking an engineering degree in Australia that is relevant to the oil and gas industry.

The award for each scholarship is for $5,000 per year up to a maximum of five years full-time or part-time equivalent. Additional funding of up to $5,000 per annum is available for the Aboriginal scholarship recipient for agreed mentoring services.

The scholarships include an opportunity for paid vacation work experience with an APPEA member company within Australia.


This year, in addition to its two Engineering Scholarships, APPEA is offering students about to enter the final year of an engineering degree the opportunity for additional vacation work experience over the 2014-2015 summer vacation period in the following disciplines:

  • Process engineering (one position)
  • Instrument & Control engineering (one position)
  • Mechanical engineering (two positions)
  • Electrical engineering (one position)

If you are an Australian citizen or permanent resident, will be in your final year of engineering in 2015 and are interested in one of these paid vacation work experience positions, please include a paragraph on why you would like to be considered and for which role as a separate heading within your application.

All work experience and scholarship positions will be in Perth. But students from outside Western Australia can apply, as they will receive flights and accommodation if selected.

Click here for more information including selection criteria and how to apply. Applications close Friday 10th October 2014. Shortlisted and successful applicants will be notified in November 2014.

KA Richards Scholarship (Postgraduate)

The KA Richards Scholarship was established in 1989 to encourage professional development to the benefit of the industry. The scholarship offers a maximum of $10,000 per year and is tenable for one year for Masters study or three years for a doctoral degree full time (or an appropriate duration for part-time study). It cannot be renewed or extended.

The KA Richards Scholarship was awarded in 2012 to Adam Bailey from the University of Adelaide.

Nominations for the KA Richards Scholarship will not be called again until 2015.